Department History


सह नाववतु सह नौ भुनक्तु । सह वीर्यं करवावहै । तेजस्विनावधीतमस्तु । मा विद्विषावहै ।

ॐ शान्तिः ! ॐ शान्तिः ! ! ॐ शान्तिः! ! !

The Department of Sanskrit, one of the oldest Department of Vivekananda Mahavidyalaya, Burdwan, established in the year 1964, has been rendering significant contribution towards Teaching & Learning in this region of Purba Barddhaman, West Bengal.

The Department of Sanskrit Started with B.A (General) Programme with few students. Two eminent Teachers Dr Kashi Nath Mukhopadhyaya and Dr. Pratima Roy were appointed to teach the students. The Department now takes pride of enrolling near about Five hundred regular students in B.A (Gen.) Programme for Six Semesters.

          The B.A (Honours) Programme Started with few students in 2002-2003. Two Distinguished Teachers Dr Gopendu Mukhopadhyaya and Dr Mina Hati contributed their good efforts to make a good Academic Environment for Students. The Department now takes pride of enrolling near about One hundred fifty regular students in B.A (Hons.) Programme for Six Semesters. Most of Honours Students from our Department are engaged in Research work after Post Graduation. There are a large number of alumni, who have contributed a lot towards the development of the society in various Sectors as like Education, Banking, Police Service and Indian Army.  

The Department started functioning with only Two teachers, and subsequently the strength of the teachers gradually increased. The distinguished teachers who served the Department from its inception are Dr Kashi Nath Mukhopadhyaya, Dr Pratima Roy, Dr Gopendu Mukhopadhyaya and Dr Mina Hati. The Past and the Present Faculty members, have also earned distinction across the Country, through their outstanding contributions towards the dissemination of Sanskrit studies.

The Department is engaged in teaching to Sanskrit Language and Literature. It has well-experienced teaching faculty which undertakes research activities in their respective field of research as well as popularizes Sanskrit amongst masses through Programme like Simple Sanskrit Speaking Classes sponsored by the various Sanskrit Organizations.

The Present teaching faculties are Dr Satyaprasad Mishra, Prof. Dibyajyoti Hazra, Prof. Chiranjib Gangopadhyay, Prof. Soma Mukherjee, Prof. Sanjukta Bit, Prof. Surojit Mondal and Prof. Sirija Khatun.

 The motto of our Department is Sanskrit for Good Society.

Our Mission to develop the Department into a Centre of excellence through the dissemination of knowledge and educate to the Students on the various Shãstras which were written in Sanskrit Language. We also Educate students to develop their awareness about the Society. We shall inspire them to realize their full potential and contribute to the development of the society.  



Syllabus under CBCS (Honours) w.e.f 2017-18
Syllabus under CBCS (General) w.e.f 2017-18