Department History


Department of Zoology of Vivekananda Mahavidyalaya, Burdwan started its journey in 1981 as a Bioscience General department with lots of contribution from our respected former teaching faculties Dr. Dilip Guha, Dr. Partha Pratim Roy and Mrs. Anjali Chakraborty, where Dr. Dilip Guha served as first Head of the department. The department was also served by Mr. Samar Kr. Sinha as G.L.I. and Mr. Mohanlal Bhattacharya and Mr. Ashok Kr. Raha as Laboratory assistant. The department established a departmental Library in loving memory of Late Sampa Hansda, a student of the department.

In 1995, this department was sanctioned for Zoology Honours course with contributions from former Principal Dr. Bhudeb Chandra Ghosh and existing faculties of that time. Department was also served by Prof. Ratna Mehera as Govterment approved part time teacher [now SACT], who retired from her service recently.

At present the Department has three Assistant Professors Dr. Someshwar Singha, Mr. Shubhrajit Bhowmik and Dr. Argha Khan and one SACT faculty Dr. Satinath Kundu. Mr. Sandip Dey, casual non-teaching staff, continuing the responsibility of Lab Assistant. The department has three laboratories, well-furnished and well equipped with modern laboratory instruments for Honours and General practical courses and has a seat capacity of 42 honours students and 100 Bioscience general students.

Lots of students successfully completed their course and now established as professors, scientists, teachers and various other posts in India and abroad and the department is continuing its effort for the betterment of students.



Syllabus under CBCS (Honours) w.e.f 2017-18
Syllabus under CBCS (General) w.e.f 2017-18